Posted on

Heathen Girls, by Luanne Jones

image

“Live without limits. Love without questions. Laugh without apologies. And make sure that whoever dies first won’t be sent to heaven looking like hell!”

This is the vow three George cousins take as children. Charma Deane George Parker, youngest of the three has had it bad: fiancé stolen by her most beloved cousin Bess, is left out of the loop when her mother dies, and now has to deal with a family crisis. Bess Halloway, the eldest of these three girls, is causing all hell to break loose just so she can protect those she loves, even though it only seems like she’s trying to destroy it all. Minami “Minnie” Annette George Raynes is the peacemaker of the trio and loves them all with an intensity and understanding that makes you wish it were pointed at you.

With so little age difference between the gals, growing up at the “Aunt Farm,” and being raised by some women with spitfire personalities, these women have bonds that keep them together even through the toughest circumstances or the painful betrayals. Everything Southern enclosed in this wonderfully written book, it made me remember a movie thats been a favorite of mine from ever since I could remember, The Divine Secrets of The Ya-Ya Sisterhood.

This book just stood out on the shelf at me when I was at the library. It said, “You will read me and love me.” It was right. I fell in love with the story and the characters right away. The characters portray Southern women beautifully, the setting was perfectly drawn out, and the tragedies were captivating. I mentioned T.D.S.O.T.Y.Y.S. for a reason. The movie has been a favorite of mine for years, it was so encompassing with love and friendships and heartbreak all around, but in the end everything becomes as good as it can get. Yes, I think another reason why I loved this book was because it was similar to T.D.S.O.T.Y.Y.S., but it has its own reasons for becoming a great novel to me. It put me right in Charma Deane’s head, her life, her fears, her risks, and her regrets. When Charme Deane was upset, so was I. When she was outraged, I wasn’t far behind. Whenever she cried, I cried right along with her.

This novel is a beautiful encasement of the South. I lived in the South for awhile as a young child so it’ll always be connected to me. Because of this, Heathen Girls will always be a specially loved reminder of where I came from.

My next review will be on Gene of Isis by Traci Harding, book one in The Mystique Trilogy.

Best of Reading 🙂
Sherri

Thoughts?

